Mother Theodore arrived in the cold, dark wilderness of Indiana on Oct. 22, 1840, and saw no house awaiting her, even though one had been promised by the bishop. She and her companions did not speak English. How bewildered they must have been as they were ushered to the two-room farmhouse of Sarah and Joseph Thralls, where the six of them and four awaiting postulants would join the couple and six of their ten children. The crowd was welcomed with food and shelter throughout the winter in that tiny home. What hospitality! What generosity and presence!

The Sisters of Providence to this day are grateful to the Thralls family for opening their doors and their hearts to our foundress and her companions. We believe it fitting, then, to offer the Sarah and Joseph Thralls Award to a constituent who has shared her/his time, talent and treasures with the Sisters of Providence.

This award is bestowed annually at the Saint Mother Theodore Guerin Dinner, with the constituent receiving an individual recognition plaque.

The main plaque is located in the south corridor of the Church of the Immaculate Conception with the following recipients listed:

2017 — Marilyn Rausch, Indianapolis

Marilyn Rausch receives the 2017 Sarah and Joseph Thralls Award from Sister Dawn Tomaszewski.

2016 — Sheila Donis, Jasonville, Ind.
2015 — Stacy Pierce and Penny Frederick
2014 — Andrea “Andi” Kozicki Pocica
2013 — Max Miller, Earl Rodgers and Keith Ruble
2012 — Gaye and Phil Kenny
2011 — Sue Weber
2010 – John W. Perry
2009 – Frank Bussing
2008 – Sondra & Richard Wellman
2007 – Arthur & Camille Snyder
2006 – Charlotte Norris
2005 – David Milroy
2004 – Mary Kathleen Fleming
2003 – Mary Zentmyer
2002 – Mike Lanke
2001– Homer Barton