Companion-AwardThe Companion award recognizes outstanding individuals who evidence the best qualities of the five foundresses who accompanied Saint Mother Theodore from France to Saint Mary-of-the-Woods in 1840. Sister St. Vincent Ferrer Gage, Sister Basilide Seneschal, Sister Olympiade Boyer, Sister Mary Liguori Tiercin and Sister Mary Xavier Leree. These persons came in their youth and remained faithful to advancing the mission, often in trying circumstance.

Sister St. Vincent Ferrer (Victorie Adelaide Gagé) was steadfast in her passion for the mission of the Sisters of Providence, continually worked for self-improvement and persevered through challenges.

Sister Basilide (Josephine Sénéschal) had a youthful determination and spirit, was quick to provide support under any circumstances, always brought a positive outlook and zeal.

Sister Olympiade (Thérèse Boyer) was willing to step up for every task needed — no matter how large or how small — in pursuit of the mission of the Sisters of Providence.

Sister (St.) Liguori (Louise Tiercin) stepped outside of her comfort zone with faith, hope and love.

Sister Mary Xavier (Françoise Lerée) was a most trustworthy companion who forwarded the mission with quiet dedication in a critical time of need.

This award is bestowed annually at the Saint Mother Theodore Guerin Dinner, with the constituent receiving an individual recognition plaque.

The main plaque is located in the south corridor of the Church of the Immaculate Conception with the following recipients listed:


Decatur, Ill., resident Michael Cassell (from left) was one of six recipients of the Saint Mother Theodore Companions Award in 2016. All received the award from Sister Denise Wilkinson (second from left). The remaining recipients were (from left) Johanna Henry, Indianapolis, Frances Ginther, Gary, Ind., Marilyn and Charles Neuman, Arlington Heights, Ill.,. and Dr. Karla Zody, West Terre Haute.

2016 – Michael Cassell ( Decatur, Ill.), Johanna Henry (Indianapolis), Frances Ginther (Gary,  Ind.), Marilyn and Charles Neuman (Arlington Heights, Ill.), and Dr. Karla Zody (West Terre Haute).

2015 – Keith and Jamie Richey (West Terre Haute)